Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_postbit.php on line 1033

Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_postbit.php on line 1033

94 ZJ 5.2 into a 86 MJ

Thread: 94 ZJ 5.2 into a 86 MJ

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1 94 ZJ 5.2 into a 86 MJ 
    I am currently in the process of converting a 86 MJ to V8 power. I have the MJ and the ZJ already.

I have a crap load of questions. I wanted to post this in the drivetrain section but it would not allow me.

A little about me. I am a 18 year career Marine. I am a 3529 Motor T Maintenance Cheif. I recently completed a 97+ conversion on a 89 MJ that I sold. I have been playing with Jeeps since 2002 and been turning wrenches for over 20 years. I have a pretty good understanding of most things automotive.

Now onto the Z/MJ,
    I want to keep the Magnums wiring in the engine bay and the MJ's wiring and dash stock appearing. I plan on picking up a 94-95 XJ dash and wiring for this conversion. I think with having the donor harness closer in age it will make re-pinning the fuse box a easier process. I will not be using any power windows or locks on the MJ. That is more wiring than I need and the truck does not have them now anyhow.

Which wires are needed strictly for the engine to run without any codes being thrown?

I want to elimanate all the ABS, air bags, and keyless entry stuff. Is there a way to chop all the stuff out and just keep the bare bones basic harness?

What I am looking for is the engine to be sitting on a run stand running with a stand alone harness. Is this possible with the factory harness? I plan to use the ZJs fuel tank and emission equipment as well. Keeping it smog compliant is a must.

I will also be retaining the ZJs 46RH. Does it need any special wiring besides a NSS?